This Castle is For Sale with Strutt and Parker
The Property Built in Regency Gothic style in the early 19th Century, Glandyfi Castle stands high on a beautifully wooded hillside from where it enjoys far reaching views across the glorious Dovey Estuary to the Mountains of Snowdonia National Park. It stands surrounded by mature gardens, grazing land and woodland with a range of versatile outbuildings.
The Castle, built of local stone and slate with mullion windows, square, round and octagonal towers and impressive chimneys, has been recently renovated throughout. It has striking accommodation that is elegant, gracious and grandiose while comfortable and contemporary. Its superb architectural detail has been restored and enhanced and embraces modern day comforts including an efficient zoned heating system, luxurious bathrooms and a contemporary styled kitchen.
Along with a new roof, the Medieval stone courtyard with its immense stone walls, now has a glass roof creating a stunning atrium ideal for dining, sitting and large- scale entertaining.
The front door opens to a panelled hall and inner hall from where an Imperial staircase rises to the first floor, lit by a deep mullion window. The drawing room is elegant and light and the dining room is oak panelled with a Regency moulded ceiling. The delightful octagonal library has a Nash influenced coved ceiling, a pink marble fireplace and four Gothic style windows framing the magnificent views up, down, and across the Dovey Estuary. Along with a comfortable family sitting room, a highly practical and striking contemporary kitchen, the atrium is a superb addition to the castle.
Upstairs the house has been renovated to create nine double bedrooms, all complimented by their own bathrooms. These are attractively decorated and individual in style. Most notable is the master suite with its high ceiling, deep windows, fireplace and superb octagonal bathroom with a circular bath in the centre. A further en suite bedroom is accessed from the courtyard.
The Lodge Recently renovated, with a new electric heating system, The Lodge is found with its own private garden at the entrance to the driveway. The accommodation is pleasantly finished and comprises a sitting room, kitchen, study/bedroom, double bedroom and shower room.
History Glandyfi Castle was built in the early 19th Century by an unknown architect for George Jeffreys and his wife Justina when a picturesque castle on the Dyfi in Regency Gothic style would have spelt the height of fashion and taste.
Built on a beautiful wooded hillside known as Garreg, the land was bought by Edward Jeffreys of Shrewsbury during the 18th Century when he became an investor of silver and lead mines, a resource which was proving valuable to some local landowners. The castle was built by Edward Jeffreys grandson, George, and his choice of location exploited the historical romance associated with castles of antiquity, being situated on a hillside overlooking the original Aberdovey Castle on the wetlands of the estuary below.
The castle and surrounding estate is said to have remained in the Jeffrey family until the estate was dispersed in 1906. Since that time it has had a series of owners, the most notable being Sir Bernard Docker, who was a flamboyant businessman and chairman of British Small Arms (which in peace-time manafactured the Triumph and BSA motor cycles) and Daimler motor cars. BSA bought the castle during the 1950's for £12,500 and it became the topic for national headlines when Sir Bernard was accused of profilgate refurbishment with company money in a shareholder rebellion.
This property has 31.43 acres of land.