Coupland Castle is For Sale With Joint Agents Galbraith Group and Strutt & Parker
A magnificent Grade I listed residence of 16th century origins, set within about 25 acres and with views towards the Cheviot Hills
Wooler High Street 4 miles, Alnwick 22 miles, Alnmouth mainline station 26.7 miles, Berwick railway station 16.6 miles, Morpeth 36 miles, Newcastle Airport 49.8 miles, Newcastle upon Tyne 51 miles, Edinburgh 59 miles
Coupland Castle boasts a fascinating history, originating in the late 1580s with the Pele Tower being the last fortified building to be constructed on the Border. Before the tower was built, the Coupland lands belonged to Sir John de Coupland who captured the Scottish King at the Battle of Neville’s Cross in 1346.
The property has been extended over the centuries and the earliest part is the four storey main tower, probably built towards the end of the 16th century, after the finding of a Border Commission in 1584. The smaller tower was probably built after the Union of England and Scotland (1603), when the threat from the border had subsided. An impressive fireplace in the sitting room within the tower, is engraved with ‘GW 1619 MW’, representing George and Mary Wallis, who owned the property at that time. A further interesting and unusual feature of the tower is the upper spiral staircase, which was designed for defence by a left-hand swordsman.
During the 18th century, a separate farmhouse was added to the south-west of the now L-shaped tower and the Wallis family sold Coupland in 1713 to Sir Chaloner Ogle RN. Ogle was famous for having defeated the pirate Batholomew Roberts, who during a brief career, captured around 456 ships. In 1806, Nathaniel Ogle conveyed the Castle and estate to Thomas Bates, and Matthew Culley was succeeded to the estate in 1820. In the 1820s, the late Georgian part of the current property was added and linked the tower to the farmhouse. The Culley family sold Coupland in 1928 to the Weidner family, who in turn
sold it to Sir Walter Aitchison in 1938. Sir Water took an immense interest in the gardens and set about planting the impressive arboretum to the east of the house.
The Castle was sold in 1971 and twice again before the present owners purchased it in 1979.
FOR FURTHER DETAILS CLICK BELOW FOR LINKS TO AGENT WEBSITES